Knitting & Stitching Show 2010

Thanks to the kind ladies at This Is Knit, I won a ticket for this year’s Knitting & Stitching show in the RDS. I didn’t make it along last year so was looking forward to returning after a two year hiatus. I wasn’t to be disappointed.

The This Is Knit stall had all their usual lovelies, along with some gorgeous Blue Sky Alpaca and Spud & ChloΓ« yarn that I managed (just) to resist based on the fact that I have a wall full of yarn at home. I did however succumb to some gorgeous Dublin Dye Company Merino Sock that Elana had put by for me after I fell in love with it mid-dyeing.

I then called to The Yarnroom’s stall and caught up with Stephanie & Serena. Stephanie had some yummy Rowan Pure Wool 4-ply that I had ordered to knit the fairisle Alfie tanktop from the new Rowan Winter Kids book. I’m still waiting on the Avocado shade but Stephanie will pop it in the post when it arrives.

Looking forward to starting that but have so much to finish first. Most important is the baby cashmerino jumper I’m knitting for my new nephew as a Christening gift for him for Saturday, Nov 6th.

I really enjoyed the show. Mam took the boys for a few hours so I couldn’t stay too long but would gladly have stayed far longer. I was almost tempted to buy 10 balls of Olive Rowan Wool Tweed for €25 from the Black Sheep Yarns stall and am practically kicking myself that I didn’t but I have almost 1kg of Rowan Felted Tweed Aran in a gorgeous teal in my stash along with 1kg each of red, green, purple, lime & teal in Kilcarra Aran Tweed so think I was right after all. I could however have been easily tempted by some Hedgehog Fibre Cashmere and some Dublin Dye in “hint of orange” I think it was called.

I steered clear of buttons as saw mainly novelty buttons that always annoy me trying to get fastened and was looking for wide ribbon but could only see Christmas/Hello Kitty ribbons.

All in all a lovely day made nicer by meeting with my knitting buddy Caroline who snuck out to the show too.

About doogarry

Mother of 4 young sons, Chemistry & Maths Teacher, Knitter - living in rural West Cavan, Ireland View all posts by doogarry

9 responses to “Knitting & Stitching Show 2010

Leave a Reply

