Turning my back on Sin

So yes I have been bitten by the lace bug. While Holden is still blocking I decided to cast on for another shawl. On my list to do in the next while are Milkweed, Travelling Woman Shawl & Centrique. After a chat with some of the Twitter knitterati, I decided Carol Feller’s beautiful Centrique should be next. I’m taking part in a June Clapotis knit-a-long so thought I’d sneak Centrique in first.

Next decision was what yarn to use. I had a few different colourways in Malabrigo Sock to consider but the beauty of my skein of Hedgehog Fibres Sock in “Sin” was hard to resist. Very aptly named so.

20110529-095720.jpg

Even on the swift it looked positively sinful

20110529-095812.jpg

I love the pattern & love the yarn but they just didn’t seem to gel. I didn’t feel the love for my new project. After humming & hawing and knitting the first few rows….

20110529-100003.jpg

…I bit the bullet & frogged. No point wasting days of knitting when my gut reaction is “Meh!”.

So on to the next skein. Malabrigo Sock in Persia has stepped up to the mark & I’m hoping that this relationship lasts a little longer than my last.

20110529-100218.jpg

So, yes, I have turned my back on Sin (Sr. Máire, my old Dominican school Principal, would be so proud of me) but only briefly. I can see that gorgeous Sin on my feet in the near future.

About doogarry

Mother of 4 young sons, Chemistry & Maths Teacher, Knitter - living in rural West Cavan, Ireland View all posts by doogarry

3 responses to “Turning my back on Sin

Leave a Reply

