Doogarry by name & by nature

20110620-173118.jpg

I’ve finally cast off Doogarry, the beautiful shawl designed by neighbour (in rural terms anyway) Rubysasha. It was a beautiful knit and I thoroughly enjoyed it. The charts were great as were the written instructions.

Doogarry is the name of the townland I live in. It’s in rural West Cavan and a very beautiful place. I’m lucky to live here. It’s full of hidey-holes & “dens” that four little boys can have adventures (& break bones) in. The yarn I chose reflected the landscape to a tee.

20110620-174339.jpg

My son, James, was back in hospital for further tests earlier this month and I got the majority of this knit while staying with him from the Friday to Monday of his second stint in hospital.

Disaster struck when I ran out of yarn 2/3 of the way through the cast-off. I had anticipated this might happen so had left the last two rows out but I still hadn’t enough. I put the call out on twitter and the lovely Sweensie came to my rescue with a wee bit of extra yarn. Not only did she get the yarn to me but she sent it in a beautiful little snack bag as a gift for James. So thoughtful & kind!!

20110620-173711.jpg

Looking forward to wearing my Doogarry shawl while sitting out on the balcony outside the kitchen watching a spectacular Doogarry sunset.

20110620-174823.jpg

About doogarry

Mother of 4 young sons, Chemistry & Maths Teacher, Knitter - living in rural West Cavan, Ireland View all posts by doogarry

7 responses to “Doogarry by name & by nature

Leave a Reply

