How it all started

As I sat on the bus en route to the 5th Yarniversary Party in This is Knit in Dublin, I started thinking back on how my love of all this knitting and yarnalicious started.

I first learned how to knit whilst still in Primary School. I remember an awful striped garter stitch scarf in dreadful brown & yellow with dropped stitches a-plenty. My aunt knit parts of it for me, as I was so pitifully slow, but the teacher knew by the change in tension & quality. Although nothing was said, I wasn’t fooling her.

Fast forward about 15 years and I play with the idea of knitting again. I bought a pattern for Tivoli Denim, started knitting the back of a jumper for myself & promptly abandoned it. About eight years later, when I was pregnant on my third son, I bought a simple baby pattern, started a lemon-coloured cardi & never got beyond about 15 rows.

I was put on bed-rest when pregnant on my fourth son in the summer of 2007 and had over 3 months of nothingness to fill. I initially thought of buying a Nintendo DS to fill my days but promptly dismissed that idea as too expensive. I decided to go with the less-costly choice of knitting. Oh how naieve I was. I had no idea of the existence of interchangeable needles, luxury yarns & fabulous coffee table-style Knitting books. I should have known that, with my addictive personality, I’d be hooked.

My good friend Aisling, an avid knitter for years, loaned me a few baby pattern books in the beginning and that whet my appetite. I progressed rapidly to cashmerino-mix baby yarns for my little boy who was causing all the worry outside yet was very cosy inside himself. I loved lumbering into This Is Knit in Blackrock to choose what yarn (generally a Debbie Bliss one) to start my next baby project in. Lisa & Jacqui were so helpful & encouraging in helping with my choices.

By the time Rory Dallan arrived, weighing in at 9lb 9.5oz, 18 days early in September 2007 he was welcomed by a sea of soft yarn. I had cardigans, hats, blankets & teddies waiting for him. As a baby he loved the feel of merino wool through his fingers and sat happily rubbing his blankets. He still loves me knitting for him. My current WIP for him is a cute Rowan frog sweater from the “Rowan Kids” book. I’m hoping to finish it next week.

I’ve spent the past four years making knitty friends. It was in Blackrock that I also met the lovely Aileen, Elana, Diane, Heidi & Yvonne. Between the friendships I made there, more chatting with Irish knitters on Ravelry &, more recently, twitter, I have a great bunch of buddies for chatting about all aspects of life. I’m so looking forward to meeting all the girls today. Lunch first, then YARN!!

Best of luck to This is Knit. Here’s to the next 25!!

About doogarry

Mother of 4 young sons, Chemistry & Maths Teacher, Knitter - living in rural West Cavan, Ireland View all posts by doogarry

6 responses to “How it all started

Leave a Reply

